The Walk…

September 3, 2008 at 1:56 am (1)

So, Joey is now 1 year, 1 week, and 1 day old.  He is walking with a walker toy, he is walking while holding onto the coffee table or any other piece of furniture, he is walking while holding our hands.  He is just not walking on his own completely yet.  It’s dumb, but you feel so much pressure as a mom, especially since he is our first, to meet these milestones at a certain time.  Other moms will tell you how quickly their child walked or did certain things, and you cringe, and want to defend this baby that you love more than anything in the earth!  Well, one day at a time, and (pardon my pun) step by step.  I know that all-too-soon he will be running away into his bright, bright future, and I will be longing again for the days when Joey was so dependent on me.  I don’t want to rush past these precious times, so I just try to remember to enjoy every moment to it’s fullest!  Joey will walk soon, and when he does, I will be happy, and yet feel a bittersweet sadness as well, realizing that it’s just one more way that my boy is growing up.  I just need to remember to enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

