Dreams Can Be Misleading

August 13, 2008 at 1:17 pm (God) (, , )

I think we all grow up with dreams.  I think we all also grow up with someone telling us that God has put a dream within us and that we must always strive to achieve His will for our lives.  I have recently been realizing, however, that I think somewhere along the line, our dreams get tangled in a web of our own personal desires for fame and selfish ambition, and suddenly, self-promotion and God’s dream for us have become one and the same in our minds.  This can’t be right.  God’s desires for us are good, yes, but He is not about our fame.  He is all about His name being glorified, and so if I take a step back and realize my dreams have become all about me getting some sort of level of recognition, I think I’ve missed the boat!  If I am doing things for any other reason beside trying to bring God glory, I’m off.  

Today, I am trying really hard to untangle my selfish flesh from out of the beautiful picture of God’s true dream for my life.  Ouch, this hurts.

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    Dearest Lis, I so much admire the journey that you are on with God. He is really revealing some powerful truths to you that will enable you to be exactly who you are meant to be. Any way, I do think God has some amazing things in store for you and your beautiful family.
    Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

