A Day for Mothers

May 11, 2008 at 4:14 pm (Family) (, , )

Today I am celebrated as a mother for the first time on Mother’s Day.  Well, sort of.  I mean, I was pregnant with Joey last year on Mother’s Day, so I was technically a mother, but I actually have a child this mother’s day.  It still seems extremely crazy at times to be someone’s mom.  I remember thinking when I was younger that my parents were so wise and old and so…parental.  Will Joey be looking at me like that soon??  Does 25 seem soooooo old to someone who is a mere 8 months old?  AH!  When does this happen?  So many times when I think of myself, I still see the baby of the family who is a nice, perennial 17 or so.  Crazy how we grow up, take on responsibility, and become the people we think of as “adults.”  

I also can’t help but think of those who have lost their mothers on a day like today.  As soon as I think of that, though, I am reminded of the awesome God we serve that knows exactly what we need and is able to know how to meet our heart’s desires long before we even voice them to Him.  He provides those people that become our family, though not connected by blood, but by love.  So celebrate “Mothers and Others” day, as a reminder of the people that God has put in your life that mean so much, because they were there in just the right place, at just the right time, being used by God to fulfill a need in your life.

1 Comment

  1. Cindi said,

    That is a wonderful writing that you put up just after I was doing a tribute to my mom on myspace, you can look if you want.

Leave a Reply

